Jamhuri Ya Muungano Wa Tanzania

Tanzania Geothermal Development Company


Eng. Kato Kabaka (Meneja Mkuu)

Kato T. Kabaka was appointed to be the Acting General Manager of TGDC since 26th August 2016. Previously, he was the Director for Business Development at TGDC since August 2014. His diverse education assortment include engineering, geoscience and business. He has a Diploma in Engineering Geology from Imperial College (London), B.Sc. in Geology and MBA from the University of Dar es Salaam and Master Degree (MSc.) in Geological Engineering from Imperial College and University of London (UK).

He is registered as Professional Engineer (Geotechnical) with Tanzania Engineer’s Registration Board (ERB) and is a member of the Institution of Engineers Tanzania (IET).

He has vast technical, management, leadership and procurement experience that has been gathered over a period of over 25 years of working in Central Government (1983-1988), Private Sector (1989-1991), and TANESCO (1991-2014). While in TANESCO he held various senior positions, the most recent ones being Research Manager (2010-2013) and Manager Power Development (2013-2014).

He was a founding member of The National Geothermal Working Group geothermal that executed geothermal studies prior establishment of TGDC. As a member of the SREP Geothermal Task Force (2012-2013), he was involved in the development of the Tanzania Scaling Up Renewable Energy program Investment Plan (SREP -IP), in which geothermal was earmarked as viable renewable energy source for Tanzania. He was a member of Tanzania Rural Energy Working Group from 2012 to 2014.

Presently he is a member of the Steering Committee of the African Rift Geothermal Development Facility (ARGeo) which is a GEF funded program being implemented by United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) in East and Central African Countries. He is currently the Tanzania Oversight Committee Member for the Geothermal Risk Mitigation Facility (GRMF) which is facility under the African Union Commission (AUC) for catalyzing geothermal power generation by providing grants for surface studies and drilling of confirmation wells in member countries.